Famous Five: The Aga Khan's Derby winners

 By David Baxter 6:32PM 4 JUN 2016 

Harzand gave the Aga Khan a fifth Derby winner and this year’s winner joins an illustrious group of Epsom scorers for the owner.


Shergar 1981
The standard which all Derby winners should be held to, Shergar was magnificent during his career, and his ten-length winning margin in the Derby is yet to be topped.


Shahrastani 1986
The son of Nijinsky completed the British and Irish Derby double, downing the previously unbeaten Dancing Brave at Epsom before winning at the Curragh by eight lengths.


Kahyasi 1988
The green and red silks are traditionally associated with the Aga Khan, but Kahyasi won in his much less seen second colours of green and brown hoops. Like Shahrastani, he then went to the Curragh and won the Irish Derby.


Sinndar 2000
Epsom would prove to be the starting point of a unique treble for Sinndar, as he then won the Irish Derby before claiming the Arc leading his jockey Johnny Murtagh to say: “He’s the best horse…unbeatable.”


Harzand 2016
A fifth win for the Aga Khan nearly did not happen as a spread plate on the morning of the Derby left Harzand’s participation in doubt. However there was no major damage and he beat US Army Ranger to give trainer Dermot Weld and jockey Pat Smullen their first wins in the Classic.

Horse Racing News | Racing Post

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.