Five memorable Derby winners from the last five decades

Vincent O Brien - The Minstrel

 By Peter Scargill 10:00PM 3 JUN 2016 

A new name will be added to the illustrious Derby roll of honour on Saturday. We look back at some of the famous names already there.

THE MINSTREL (above) – 1977
Talent, athleticism and tenacity are what is required of a horse to win the Derby and this little battler had it all. He was Lester Piggott’s eighth Derby winner, he would ride one more on Teenoso in 1983.


SHERGAR – 1981
The benchmark by which all Derby winners are, and should always be, measured by. The bay with the big white face was cantering when taking the lead in the home straight and powered further and further clear to win by a record ten length. Equine perfection.


Oh it was so close. Benny The Dip and Willie Ryan kicked clear with three furlongs to go while Pat Eddery hunted him down from the rear on Silver Patriarch, agonisingly falling short in a photo finish.

Sea The Stars (M Kinane) wins the Derby 2009 

Aidan O’Brien fielded a battalion of horses in an attempt to prey on any weaknesses Sea The Stars may have. As it turned out, the John Oxx-trained star had none as he surged to success under Mick Kinane.

Pour Moi - Epsom Derby Meeting 4/6/2011

POUR MOI – 2011
‘Off with his head’ the Racing Post declared as Mickael Barzalona stood bolt upright in his saddle, whip raised in triumph before he had even crossed the line. Back in third was the Queen’s Carlton House, and one was not impressed with the reversal.

Horse Racing News | Racing Post

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.