Mullins king of Galway as Weld's lengthy reign ends

Willie Mullins

Willie Mullins saddled nine winners from 19 runners at Galway

  PICTURE: Getty Images  

 By Mark Scully 5:46PM 31 JUL 2016 

WILLIE MULLINS has claimed the champion trainer prize for the first time at Galway, denying Dermot Weld the title for only the second time in 31 years.

Weld’s remarkable run of success – stretching back 19 years – was ended by Mullins as he failed to take top honours. Mullins amassed a total of 58 points, courtesy of nine winners from 19 runners sent out across the week.

Of the remaining ten who failed to score, five finished either third or second, with only three finishing worse than fourth in what was a magnificent week for Ireland’s champion jumps trainer.

The highlight of Mullins’ week came when Clondaw Warrior took out Thursday’s Galway Hurdle under a thrilling Ruby Walsh ride.

By contrast, Weld sent out 34 runners across the week, six of which ran out winners, with a further nine posting placed efforts.

Weld started the week as 1-5 favourite with Paddy Power to be crowned champion. Instead, he was dethroned for only the second time and for the first time since Aidan O’Brien beat him to the title in 1997.

Horse Racing News | Racing Post

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.