Racing Post lands triple success at HWPA Awards

Patricks award winning pic 360

Patrick McCann’s stunning award-winning photo

  PICTURE: Patrick McCann (  

 By Lewis Porteous 4:33PM 5 DEC 2016 

THE Racing Post’s Tom Kerr has been crowned Racing Writer of the Year, while colleagues Edward Whitaker and Patrick McCann were also among the winners at the 50th annual Horserace Writers & Photographers’ Association Derby Awards in London.

Kerr, nominated for the award for the first time, edged out Chris Cook and Greg Wood of The Guardian and freelance writer Kevin Blake to clinch the Clive Graham Trophy, won last year by his Racing Post colleague Alastair Down.

Whitaker and McCann were also celebrating after scooping both photographer awards at the HWPA lunch on Monday, supported by the Qatar Racing & Equestrian Club for a fourth consecutive year, with Whitaker landing the Photographer of the Year title for a record seventh time after previously enjoying success in 2014, 2012, 2006, 2003 2002 and 1999.

His portfolio of photos was judged best from four nominees, who also included Alan Crowhurst, Hugh Routledge and McCann, who himself was a winner after capturing the Picture of the Year award for the second year running.

McCann’s stunning award-winning shot featured the runners in a hurdle race at Bellewstown jumping an obstacle with a rainbow arching through a cloudless sky above.

The Irish-based photographer landed the same award last year for his incredible shot of Quantitativeeasing being forced out of the Glenfarclas Cross Country Chase in March, in which McCann sustained a serious leg fracture only seconds later when the horse collided with him at the Cheltenham Festival.

Townend wins Reporter of the Year

Racing Post reporters were also in the frame for the second award for journalists, the John Oaksey Trophy for the Racing Reporter of the Year, with Jon Lees and Lee Mottershead looking to add to past success at the HWPA awards

However, the award went to Marcus Townend of the Daily Mail, with Chris Cook the other nomination in this category.

The Peter O’Sullevan Trophy for Broadcaster of the Year, founded in 2004, went to Channel 4’s Nick Luck for a record seventh time. 

Ballydoyle maestro Aidan O’Brien was voted HWPA Trainer of the Year, with Laura Mongan, Willie Mullins and Colin Tizzard the other nominees

Jim Crowley, champion Flat jockey for the first time this season, gained the Jockey of the Year award, in front of Josephine Gordon, Richard Johnson and Ryan Moore.

Owner of the Year went to the all-conquering Coolmore operation, while Godolphin’s Charlie Appleby was the International Trainer of the Year thanks to a fruitful time at Melbourne’s Spring Carnival recently.

Geoff Greetham of Timeform gained the George Ennor Trophy for Outstanding Achievement, while the recipient of the Qatar Racing & Equestrian Club Arabian award, to recognise outstanding achievement in Arabian racing, was owner, breeder, sponsor and patron HH Sheikh Hamdan bin Rashid Al Maktoum.

HWPA award winners

Clive Graham Trophy for Racing Writer of the Year – Tom Kerr

John Oaksey Trophy for Racing Reporter of the Year – Marcus Townend

Photographer of the Year – Edward Whitaker

Picture of the Year – Patrick McCann

Peter O’Sullevan Trophy for Broadcaster of the Year – Nick Luck

George Ennor Trophy for Outstanding Achievement – Geoff Greetham

Jockey of the Year – Jim Crowley

Trainer of the Year – Aidan O’Brien

Owner of the Year – Coolmore

International Trainer of the Year – Charlie Appleby

Qatar Racing & Equestrian Club Arabian Award – H H Sheikh Hamdan bin Rashid al Maktoum

Horse Racing News | Racing Post

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.